Best MC’s 2005-2010……

Posted: January 6, 2011 by Joe "Bird" in Hiphop
Tags: , , , , , ,

So I was going to do a best MC’s of the decade since this is the last day of the decade…….BUT that seemed to be just too hard of a task for me to do so I figured I would just put up who I think are the top 10 MC’s of the decade…………

NOT in order…….

Nas – Albums “Hiphop is Dead” (2006), “Untitled” (2008), “Distant Relatives” (2010) – I view Nas as probably the greatest MC of all time so i’d have to put him on this list.

Lupe Fiasco – Not many MC’s today are as lyrical as Lupe. With classic/near classic albums such as “Food & Liquor” and “The Cool”. And the 2009 mixtape “enemy of the state”

Black Thought – I don’t think i’ve EVER heard a bad verse by Black Thought. He’s consistent and a part of one of the greatest Hiphop groups ever…. The Roots. Their album “How I Got Over” was probably one of the best albums of 2010. He also hung with Eminem bar for bar in the BET cypher.

Ghostface/Raekwon – Yeah I kinda cheated with this one ha. But I couldn’t put one without the other and didn’t want this to look like a Wu biased top 10 lol. Ghostface to me is one of the MOST consistent MC’s ever as well. And I only need to say one thing about Rae “Only Built for Cuban Linx 2” dropped in 2009 and it was classic……..

Jay-z – It’s Jay-z and that’s all I can say haha. Actually he has had some solid releases in the last 5 years. “Blueprint 3” (09), American Gangster (07), and Kingdom Come (06)

Eminem – What can I say he’s  back! And thank God after putting out that terrible “Encore” album he has come back. With two recent releases “Relapse” and “Recovery” and destroying the self proclaimed greatest rapper alive (Wanye) on about all 3 tracks they have done together. Thankfully he has dropped most of those accents too.

Common – Com dropped the classic “Be” in 2005 and FINALLY started getting some mainstream exposure that he deserves. Even though it is frustrating that he has been around since the early 90’s and is just recently getting recognition. Some people just think because of his poetic “conscious” lyrics that he can’t hang with “punchline” rappers not realizing he has already proven that in his earlier career.

Elzhi – I know I lost a lotttttt of people that do not follow the underground or less known MC’s with this lol. I tried to keep the list more “mainstream” even BUT I couldn’t leave Elzhi off. The former member of the underrated group Slum Village destroys just about every verse he does. “The Preface” is a GREAT display of his lyrical ability.

Andre 3000 – I debated and debated and wasn’t going to put him on this list to begin with. Why? Because the only album he has put out is Idlewild as one half of Outkast and he has rapped on very few songs. However when he does choose to rap instead of sing he does it better than MOST. So I had to put the best rapper from the south on this list.

Jay Electronica – Again another MC that I debated over. This one was debated even more since he had NEVER even put out an album lol. He has several mixtapes and is starting to be featured on a lot of albums. His verses however rarely come but when they do he destroys it!!!!!!  Greatest MC from New Orleans (yes I said it) It appears many others think he is going to be a great since he’s signed to Jay-z’s new label. He also had an offer to be signed to Diddy’s label. Check out his track “Exhibit C” (produced by Just Blaze), “Ghost of Christopher Wallace” f. Diddy, and Currensy’s “the day” f. Mos Def.

Honorable Mentions….. I must admit I debated over adding a lot of these MC’s BUT I quickly put this list together and could change my mind by tomorrow lol……..

Brother Ali, Redman, Method Man, Pusha T, Masta Ace, Gza, Blu, Joe Budden, Royce Da 5’9, etc…..

Comment and give me your list of 10 or thoughts……

Comments
  1. Jason says:

    Nice list………..

Leave a Reply

